awards and honors


  • 1950 Honorary Title of Yogiraj (King of Yoga) awarded by H. H. Sri Swami Sivananda, Yoga Vedanta Forest Academy, India.
  • 1961 Medal of Honor from the Manila Yacht Club.
    1967 Martin Buber Award for Outstanding Service to Humanity, The Little Synagogue, New York.
  • 1969 Medal of Honor from the City of Verona, Italy.
  • 1969 Medal of Honor from the Academy of Tiberina, Rome, Italy.
  • 1970 Presented with Key to the City and named Honorary Citizen of Rayol-Canadel District, France.
  • 1974 Peace Award by Chennai Branch of UNESÇO, India.
  • 1975 Presented with Key to the City of Orlando, Florida; March 8, 1975, was proclaimed by Mayor asSwamiSatchidananda Day.
  • 1976 Honorary Fellow of Concordia University; Montreal, Canada.
  • 1977 Fellow of the College of Human Sciences, International Institute of Integral Human Sciences; Switzerland.
  • 1981 Fellow of World Thanksgiving Foundation; Dallas, Texas.
  • 1982 Honorary Doctorate of Humanities, International College of Spiritual Sciences; Montreal, Canada.
  • 1982 Presented with Key to the City of Varredes, France.
  • 1983 Honorary Title of PerarulPerumunivar (Grace-filled, Great Sage) by His Excellence Sri Kaurana, (then) Governor of Tamil Nadu, India.
  • 1983 Honorary Citizenship of the City of Baltimore, Maryland.
  • 1984 Honorary Degree, Doctor of Divine Wisdom; The New Seminary, New York.
  • 1984 Fellow of the World Vegetarian Congress, England.
  • 1986 Evarts Loomis Peace Award of the Samata Institute; California, in recognition of Outstanding
    Achievement and superior service in the field of holistic health.
  • 1986 Humanitarian Award of the Anti-Defamation League of B’nai B’rith.
  • 1990 Honorary Patron of the BharatiyaVidyaBhavan International, Mumbai, India.
  • 1990 Unity in Yoga Award for World Service, Unity in Yoga.
  • 1990 Golden Lotus Award for Outstanding Achievement, International Yoga Academy; Argentina.
  • 1990 Outstanding Achievement Award, International Yoga Academy; Argentina.
  • 1992 New World Academy Luminary Award; New World Academy, England.
  • 1993 The Albert Schweitzer Award, Albert Schweitzer Foundation; Austria.
  • 1994 Hindu of the Year Award, from Hinduism Today, Hawaii.
  • 1996 The Juliet Hollister Interfaith Award, presented at the United Nations. Other recipients include: H. H. the Dalai Lama, Nelson Mandela, Queen Noor of Jordan, and Pandit Ravi Shankar.
  • 2002 U Thant Peace Award, presented at the Interfaith Center of New York by the Peace Meditation at the United Nations. Other recipients include: Nelson Mandela, Mikhail Gorbachev, Pope John Paul II, Mother Teresa, the Dalai Lama, Desmond Tutu and Dada J.P. Vaswani.